Ubuntu server 12.04.3 transformed into a VM testing machine using virtualbox

As always the coolest thing about linux, it can do what you want it to do. Want a gaming system? Linux can be that. Want just a browser system? Linux can be that. Want a test lab? Yeah, linux. It is the one hat the”FITS ALL”.

Well I just decided to experiment on ubuntu creating a test lab system to test other linux operating systems To do that, you need a virtual machine. You guessed it, ubuntu can be that. I like to start small and work my way up. For the platform, I used ubuntu server 12.04.3, the basic server, and set it up with virtualbox as the first prototype.
First lets, outline the specs:
ASUSTek motherboard: A8N-SLI SE

Bus size: 64bit

CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core 4800+ 2400MHz

Memory: 2.5GB

VGA compatible controller: RV710 Radeon HD 4350/4550

Bus size: 64bit

OS system: ubuntu 12.04.3 LTS

Kernel: 3.2.0-57-generic

I installed the system as a plane server first. Ran the usual updates and so-forth. Now I wanted to install virtualbox with a GUI. The only way to use it that way is to have the xserver and a graphical desktop user interface installed on the system.
Instead of using a full blown Desktop environment, I could use only a simple lightweight windows manager like fluxbox or openbox. Fluxbox is my best friend.
#sudo apt-get install fluxbox
Next I need the xserver installed. “xorg” is provided in the ubuntu repos.
#sudo apt-get install xorg
You can’t log into your graphical system without a login manager. Installed lightdm.
#sudo apt-get install lightdm
After all required software has been installed, restarted the system.
#sudo shutdown -r now
There were two additional packages I needed, synaptic and virtualbox.
Synaptic is not included with ubuntu server so that has to be installed. I will not use this lab machine to browse the internet. No need for a web browser. I do however need the virtualbox package. Luckily, there is one available in the repos.
#sudo apt-get install synaptic
After synaptic was installed, I ran the program from the terminal and searched for virtualbox. Installed it.
Now it is time to run virtualbox and install a linux OS. Being proactive, I already had a few iso images in a spare folder.
Let these videos take you the rest of the way.
 
Leave a Reply

